Untangling Those North Carolina Coles

Recently, I have been going back over my research on the Coles, who came from Wake county, NC to Benton and then Carroll county, Tennessee.

I had previously thought that the Loyd Cole who migrated westward was the grandson of Mark Cole of Cumberland county, NC.  However, new sources have become available online since I did my original research, and for various reasons, I now believe that Loyd was the grandson of a John Cole who lived in Johnston and then Wake counties.

The Johnston/Wake county Coles may well have been related to the Coles in Cumberland county. There are many similar given names between the two families.  But I believe the connection, if there is one, goes back a lot further than I originally believed. Possibly way back to Pennsylvania.

I have therefore removed the Cole history that I had previously posted to this site.

Leave a Reply

