Will of William Lanier 1811

William Lanier (1756-1811) was my 5th great-grandfather. I found his will on Rootsweb. The primary source listed is: Davidson Co. TN Wills and Inventories, Vol I, 1783-1816, though I have not seen the source myself yet. I am posting the will primarily for the Slave Name Roll Project. See slave names in bold, below.

David Parker, William Parker, and John Lanier, Plaintiffs vs Buchanan Lanier, Defendant. All parties appeared in Davidson Co. Court on May 17, 1811.

Buchanan Lanier purported to have in his possession the last will and testament of his father, William Lanier, But David Parker, William Parker, and John Lanier claimed that they had the last will and testament of William Lanier.

A jury of men, to wit, William Wright, John Morris, Ephraim Parham,Richard Herman, Isaac Drake, James Hardgens, Francis McCoy, John Johns, Henry Lile, James Ferrell, Robert Tramborough, and Benjamin Phillips being elected and sworn listened to oaths of Wills Barrow, William Wary and Alexander determined that the paper held by David Parker, William Parker, and John Lanier was the Last Will and Testament of William Lanier.

The Court ordered it to be recorded. It reads as follows:

The will of William Lanier of Davidson county, this Feb 7, 1811.

To my five sons, to wit, William Lanier, John Lanier, Robert Lanier, Garrison Lanier and Churchill Lanier my two plantations, the one on which I now live, the other lately purchased from Willis Barrow, both contains 250 acres of land to be equally divided among them.

To four of my sons and four of my daughters, to wit, John Lanier, Robert Lanier, Garrison Lanier, Churchill Lanier, Susannah Parker formerly Susannah Lanier, Penelope Lanier, Lemiza Lanier, and Martha Lanier the following negroes, to wit, Tom, Adam, Joe, Alfred, E, and Fanny, Patt, Barishaba, Lucinda, and Peggy to be equally divided.

To my youngest daughters Penelope Lanier, Lemiza Lanier and Martha Lanier each one feather bed and furniture.

To Charles Parker, son of William Parker, a negro boy named Edmond.

I appoint David Parker, William Parker and my son John Lanier executors.

One thought on “Will of William Lanier 1811

Leave a Reply

